March is Madness

IMG_0990March is madness.

I am madness

as I race like a tornado,

spinning, ripping and tearing

through the otherwise tranquil morning.

 

I am a garish blur

revolving like a vintage toy top

unaware that pre-dawn shadows

faded into filtered morning light.

 

I missed

the wood thrush

and his flute-like

Ee-ooh-lay.

 

I missed

the doe with her fawn

ears twitching

grazing near the creek

 

I missed the red fox

scaling the side wooden fence,

graceful and agile.

 

Not pup, though.

She settles onto

the sisal doormat,

nose pointed to the sky.

Careful not to miss

a single

detail.

5 thoughts on “March is Madness

  1. I never made the connection between March Madness and how we all feel so often during March because of all of the demands. I think that is one of the reasons I love the Slice of Life challenge so much. It forces us to notice all of moments that might otherwise pass us by unnoticed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment