Re•purpose

New adventures are exciting. My younger self embraced change easily: a new move, a new job, a new relationship, a new hobby. No problem. But at 57 years old, trying something new feels  much more daunting. 

Though with each birthday, I find routines less mundane, more satisfying. They fit me like a glove, molded snuggly to the curves of my middle-aged body. Why would I want to disrupt what feels so secure?

I run the same daily route. My pace is slow to start but before long I’m cruising through the familiar people, work and systems. When I hit the homestretch, my legs extend full-stride, my brain on autopilot. Home is my sanctuary.

Yet, a little voice inside me warns, “You are playing defense, kiddo. You are holding the ball until the clock runs out. Is that how you are going to play the game?”

I am aware that my Groundhog Day playbook is not a crowd pleaser, and creature comforts are the trappings of a life less lived. But radical reinvention feels too extreme and selecting an adjacent path reeks of complacency.

Meanwhile, the clock keeps ticking.

4 thoughts on “Re•purpose

  1. Gosh, I just get this. This line hits home: “I am aware that my Groundhog Day playbook is not a crowd pleaser, and creature comforts are the trappings of a life less lived.” The momentum for anything, but comfort seems to have gotten lost (or maybe hidden in my middle-aged middle?) Thank you for sharing this. I am living this alongside you!

    Like

  2. A sign of a strong piece of writing for me is when I have to reread to really figure out what it is saying and then hear myself saying, “Well maybe, but….” I get your presicely-worded ideas about your routine. But I’m ready to push back as leigh Anne wants to. Maybe one day we can reread this and discuss!! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Gorgeous writing rife with figurative language- I so feel this way about routine “They fit me like a glove, molded snuggly”. I’m with Sally- this post deserves a book club discussion. Does reinvention require disrupting comforting routines?

    Like

Leave a comment