The Pitch: Four Fantasy Projects

If money, resources, time and experience were not prohibitive factors, here are four projects I’d love to explore in the future. I’m including written descriptions for each — my pitch to the universe.

  1. Sister Teachers: A podcast about two sisters who are also seasoned teachers working in the same school district.

Pull up a chair alongside these two hilarious teachers who also happen to be sisters, as they reflect on the current state of education post Covid. They’ll discuss the good ole days in education when teachers were underpaid but revered as valuable professionals in their community; and ponder a near-future scenario where the best teachers have left to work for educational software companies. They’ll ask the tough questions: Who will remain in the classrooms–long term substitutes who are figuring out their post college career paths? Even experienced teachers will find their hot tips, covering work-life balance and healthy living beneficial. Topics like: Maximizing Your Lunch Hour with Blended Drinks. Lunch sipped through a straw, offers mobility and frees up one hand for maximum productivity while also delivering a nutritious meal.

  1. Motor City Makeover: This DIY blog follows a teacher who leaves the classroom after 19 years to renovate a house in Detroit. 

“I’ve always wanted to renovate houses, especially ones with character,” Juengst told the content editor at Houzz in a recent interview. “Detroit offers the perfect mix of affordability and charm. A big resurgence is going to happen in and around Detroit. Mark my words. The city has it all: infrastructure, fresh water, cooler temperature, resources, world class universities…Just let me know if you’d like me to renovate a house for you,” she added with a chuckle.

  1. Fort-itude: A children’s picture book about two friends who find respite from the ills of the world in the fort they build in the woods.

This is the author-illustrator’s first foray into the children’s literature world, and it has become one of the most anticipated book releases in 2024. Sure to be an instant classic, Juengst, a self taught painter and writer, has shown it doesn’t take a fine arts degree to create an engaging story about the healing bonds of friendship.

  1. Fiber Optic: A collection of embroidered wall art, from the macabre to the anthropomorphic. 

Come visit this embroidery collection, Fiber Optic, which examines the dark side of our imaginations. The installation centers on the fantastical. Bats and crows and other personified woodland creatures come to life in the bold, intricate stitches the artist sews onto a black fabric canvas.  It is a stitchery not to be missed.

What projects might you try if anything was possible?

This idea was sparked after reading  Writer Tammy Evans s prompt: Look around and choose 4 things within 4 ft. of you and 4 minutes to write about them. One sentence each.

3 thoughts on “The Pitch: Four Fantasy Projects

  1. Oh how I love all of these! I would absolutely tune in to a Sister Teachers pod, my sister and I used to work together in ECE so I’m sure we’d have some relatable stories!
    What a wonderful slice, and now you’ve got my brain thinking!!!

    Like

  2. What? These aren’t real? (Yet?) All of these sound intriguing and I’d show up for all of them, especially the collection of embroidered wall art. Thank you for the inspiration. I’ll have to try my hand at this one.

    Like

  3. I completely thought that podcast was the real deal! I would tune in, to be sure. I really love all of these ideas, especially the podcast and children’s book. I’ve got my own ideas…hmmm…going to have to give this idea a go! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a comment