Spring’s Elixir

Today 

Nature is cycling into

sensory overload.

I walk beneath 

blue skies

and the sun’s warmth.

Winter’s outer layers

swapped for shades 

and sunscreen.

Energy buzzes,

like low dose

electric shocks-

Mood therapy. 


But it’s the potent fragrance

of the blooming pear tree

that sends me into a vivid

scene from the past.


The perfume swirls, 

rewinds time, 

then floats in through 

the open sunroof.


I’m driving down

Peachtree Street.

It’s March, 

but it feels like May.

The flowering pear trees

line the avenue,

pops of white on sapphire. 


I crank up 

the dial to nine

when Soundgarden 

comes on the radio.

The moment-

an elixir of

sun, song and sweet-

leaves me drunk 

on the possibilities

of all that lies 

before me.

3 thoughts on “Spring’s Elixir

  1. Oh, I was right there with you in both scenes. That sight of the blooms and blue sky. That smell! Then the car, the music, the possibly lives stretching before you. Such an evocative piece; you paint the scenes well and bring us along. And your message lingers in the mind…

    Like

  2. I can just barely see from the windows in my classroom a block that is planted with pear trees on both sides of the street. For the time that it is in bloom, it is truly one of the prettiest streets in the city. I love peeking out the window multiple times a day during peak season to enjoy it. Your post makes me anticipate spring even more!

    Like

Leave a comment